Weather Icon

Zanzibar At a Glance

Zanzibar At a Glance

Zanzibar is an archipelago of islands comprised of two main sister islands, Unguja and Pemba, along with more than 50 small islets, with a land area of 2,654 square kilometers and an Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of 241,541 square kilometers. It is about 30 kilometers off the coast of East Africa, between 5 and 7 degrees south of the Equator, at a distance of about 257.56 nautical miles (477.32 kilometers) and about 73 kilometers (24 minutes). 

In comparison to most EAC countries, Zanzibar’s climate is tropical, with rainy seasons from March to May and October to November, making it a reliable and well-distributed season, as a result, it presents itself as an all-around vacation destination.


Zanzibar is a semi-autonomous part of the United Republic of Tanzania, with its own President and government structure including the Cabinet, Legislature, and Judiciary, known as the Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar, which is fully responsible for all non-union matters. Zanzibar practices multiparty democracy, and its constitution of 1984 calls for the inclusion of the opposition party in the government to form a Government of National Unity.


Overall, Zanzibar’s economic performance has been impressive in recent years, growing at an average of 7.3 percent from 2017 to 2019, while average prices increased by 4.1 percent during the same period. The economy of Zanzibar is divided into three major sectors: service (tourism, trade, transportation and storage, and other private and public services); industries (manufacturing, construction, and mining); and agriculture (including forestry, crops, livestock, and fishing). The contributions of these sectors to GDP are 51.7 percent, 20.1 percent, and 18.4 percent, respectively, for services, agriculture, and industries respectively.


The Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar has pursued a policy of free education for all Zanzibar citizens since the country’s independence in 1964. Every citizen has the right to basic education, and there are now both private and public education systems that produce qualified candidates and improve our employment generation. Zanzibar has a total of 21 educational institutions, including two technical schools, nine science schools, three vocational training centers, four institutes, and three universities.

Regional Corporation  

Zanzibar is a member of both international and regional communities and treaties as part of the United Republic of Tanzania. Zanzibar is a member of the East African Community (EAC), the Southern African Development Community (SADC), and the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA). Internationally, Zanzibar is a part of the Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA) agreement between COMESA, SADC, and the East African Community (EAC), as well as the Free Trade Economic Agreement (CFTA). As a result, it can benefit from ongoing regional integration initiatives by facilitating the movement of locally produced goods. 

Investment Protection

On the international level, investments are safeguarded by the constitution and international conventions such as the World Bank’s Multinational Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA) and the International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).